Which of these counries speak Spanish as a dominant language?

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Costa Rica, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Portugal, England, USA.

I’d like to know which countries speak Spanish as their dominant language. Thank you!


  1. Do you really need our help with this?

    Costa Rica, Mexico and Spain are the only two that speak Spanish as a dominant language, and the only two countries where the Spanish language has any kind of government recognition.

    Australia is English, Austria is German, Belgium is Dutch (French is also spoken by about 40% of the population and German by around 10%), Brazil is Portuguese, Canada is English (though Quebec speaks French), People’s Republic of China is Mandarin, Denmark is Danish, Finland is Finnish, France is French, Germany is German, Greece is Greek, Hong Kong is Cantonese and English, Ireland is English (only 3% speak Irish as a daily language), Italy is Italian, Japan is Japanese, Netherlands are Dutch, Norway is Norwegian, New Zealand is English, South Africa has 11 official languages (Afrikaans, Zulu and English are notable), Sweden is Swedish, Switzerland has four official languages: German (majority), French, Italian and Romansh. No one actually speaks Romansh, Albanian is actually more widely spoken in Switzerland, Portugal is Portuguese, England isn’t a country, but it’s a constituent of the English-speaking United Kingdom. The United States is English.

  2. Costa Rica, Mexico, and Brazil. Spain owned these countries and of course they ended up knowing the language. Texas used to be part of Mexico! (fun fact)

    Hollister Gurl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.